Top Ten Tuesday- Book to Movie Adaptations

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme created by The Broke and the Bookish blog.

TTT is taking a well-deserved break until August 15th, so I will be making my own lists- or recycling old topics from before I had this blog- during the hiatus.

This week I’m recycling the topics: Book to Movie Adaptations (from 2/22/11) and Books I Want to See Made Into Movies (from 4/12/11)

 

Book to Movie Adaptations

 

 

Atonement (2007)

The stunning adaptation of Atonement is as heartbreakingly-beautiful as Ian McEwan’s original novel. It’s gorgeously shot, acted, and scored. The ending packs as much of a gut punch on the screen as it does on the page.

Far From the Madding Crowd (2015)

This gorgeous film is a wonderful adaptation of Hardy’s Victorian pastoral novel. I think Carey Mulligan and Matthias Schoenaerts are perfect in their roles as Bathsheba and Gabriel.

Sense and Sensibility (1995)

I really like the 2008 BBC miniseries too, but I love this 1995 film version of Sense and Sensibility. I think Emma Thompson did a wonderful job adapting Austen’s classic-she certainly deserved that Oscar. The cinematography, sets, costumes, and acting are all phenomenal too.

Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day (2008)

This adaptation is quite different from Winifred Watson’s book, but stays true to the essence of the story. As much as I enjoyed the novel, I must admit that I prefer the movie. It’s become one of my favorite comfort watches and always manages to cheer me up.

I Capture the Castle (2003) 

This is another of my favorite comfort watches. The movie version is very close to the book, even including original dialogue. I actually watched the adaptation before reading the novel, and now I love both equally.

 

Books I Want to See Made Into Movies

 

 

The Grand Sophy by Georgette Heyer

Honestly, I would love to see any of Heyer’s novels adapted for film or TV. Apparently, a script has been/is being written for The Grand Sophy, but there doesn’t seem to be much information about the project floating around at the moment. Fingers crossed that this one gets made soon!

To Say Nothing of the Dog by Connie Willis 

I think this could be such a fun, comedic movie if handled correctly. I would love to see Willis’ characters and their time travel hijinks on the big screen.

The Secret History by Donna Tartt

This could make a gorgeous and atmospheric film that could easily become a cult classic. I doubt even a great adaptation could live up to the experience of reading the book for the first time though.

The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters

I can see this as a slow, quiet, and unsettling film with exquisite cinematography. The ambiguous and startling ending would need to remain intact however…

Can You Keep a Secret? by Sophie Kinsella 

If Hollywood still made good rom-coms, this book would make an excellent one.  I’m thinking something in the same vein as Bridget Jones’ Diary-this hilarious novel deserves a better adaptation than Kinsella’s Shopaholic received.

 

What are some of your favorite book to movie adaptations? What are some books you’d like to see made into movies?

 

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday- Book to Movie Adaptations

Add yours

  1. Great choices. Actually the 1970’s adaptation of Far From the Madding Crowd was good too. But it’s one of those movies that, years later, looks more like the period when it was made (hair, make up etc) thank the one it depicts.

    I’d also love to see (good) adaptations of the books you selected. Apparently there were efforts to make a film version of The Secret History, but nothing ever came of it: http://www.shortlist.com/entertainment/books/books-that-refuse-to-become-movies

    My TTT https://franlaniado.wordpress.com/2017/08/08/top-ten-tuesday-books-that-made-me-laugh-out-loud/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice list! Adaptation is very difficult. I think the recent Far From the Madding Crowd and the Emma Thompson Sense and Sensibility were both good films but leave a lot of the story out. But they would be too long, and therefore disappointing, if they were more faithful. Sometimes a mini-series is the way to go. I don’t think any film of Pride and Prejudice will ever top the 1995 min-series. I’m too sleep deprived to think of books I would like to see adapted, but I like the adaptations of Norwegian Wood, High Fidelity, Gone with the Wind and, well, Jurassic Park.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I definitely agree that there’s no such thing as a perfect adaptation -it’s difficult to remain faithful to the book while also creating a good movie that can stand on its own. I think miniseries are usually more successful adaptations too. There are so many miniseries I love and this would be a different list if I hadn’t focused only on movies!
      I also love the 1995 BBC Pride and Prejudice and GWTW.

      Like

Leave a Reply

