WWW Wednesdays- August 9, 2017

WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Taking on a World of Words.

The three W’s are:

What are you currently reading?

What did you recently finish reading?

What do you think you’ll read next?

 

Currently reading:

The Paying Guests by Sarah Waters, The Austen Escape by Katherine Reay, Voyager by Diana Gabaldon

Right now my reading is focused on Austen in August books and the Tome Topple Readathon. I’m enjoying all of these- especially The Paying Guests. 

 

Recently Finished:

Sofia Khan is Not Obliged by Ayisha Malik, See What I Have Done by Sarah Schmidt

I thought Sofia Khan is Not Obliged was delightfully charming. It was just the right read at the right time too.  I loved Sarah Schmidt’s prose in See What I Have Done, even if I had some issues with the book as a whole. I reviewed it here.

 

Reading Next:

Jane Austen at Home by Lucy Worsley, Eligible by Curtis Sittenfeld

I’ll be continuing on with my #AusteninAugustRBR reads with this Austen biography by my fave historian Lucy Worsely, and this modern Pride and Prejudice retelling. I might pick up Coming Home or The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue from my #TomeTopple TBR later this week as well.

 

What have you been reading lately?

4 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays- August 9, 2017

Add yours

  1. I just finished The Monsters of Templeton by Lauren Groff, which I really enjoyed. It’s definitely the most plot driven of the books I’ve read by her, and also the only one that ventures into magical realism. I just started A Murder in Time by Julie McElwain. I’ve heard mixed reviews so we’ll see how it goes!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow so many great looking choices – I loved The Paying Guests which led me to do a re-read of some of Sarah Waters earlier books – I also enjoyed Sarah Schmidt’s recreation of the Lizzie Borden story although her narration seemed a little bizarre!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

