Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon Master Post

Happy #Readathon Day!

I’ll be updating my readathon progress here throughout the 24 hours. Make sure to scroll down to catch all the earlier posts:

Overall:

I had a lot of fun participating in my first Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon. I was a little surprised and disappointed in the actual amount of reading I was able to accomplish. I had only a few hours of uninterrupted reading time and I also don’t think I realized how time-consuming the fun community and social aspects of the event are. Looking back, my reading choices were probably not the smartest either. None of them were particularly fast-paced reads that would allow me to finish multiple books quickly. However, my goal was never to read a certain amount, but only to make progress in my fall reading. And I really enjoyed each of the books I picked up. Now I’ve learned some of what not to do for the next readathon! I think I’ll be taking a nap or two later today but also plan to spend some time reading. After all, the Autumn Readathon has already started…

Closing Survey!

1. Which hour was most daunting for you?

Hour 18 because I wanted to keep reading a bit longer but couldn’t keep my eyes open
2. Tell us ALLLLL the books you read!

The only book I finished was The Silent Companions by Laura Purcell, but I also read The Essex Serpent by Sara Perry, Lady Audley’s Secret by Mary Elizabeth Braddon, and Miss Marjoribanks by Margaret Oliphant
3. Which books would you recommend to other Read-a-thoners?

The Silent Companions
4. What’s a really rad thing we could do during the next Read-a-thon that would make you smile?

The event was so well-hosted that I can’t think of anything at the moment that could improve it!
5. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? 

I think I will definitely participate in the next readathon, but with a few changes that will hopefully increase my success!

Update: Hours 17-24

I read The Essex Serpent for around another hour. It is a gorgeously written novel but not a fast read. Perry’s prose is so descriptive and I want to savor every sentence. Then I read a little of Lady Audley’s Secret before falling asleep. I slept from 1:30-6 (hours 18-23) When I woke up this morning, I finished The Silent Companions with a much needed cup of coffee.

Total Progress:

Lady Audley’s Secret: 88 pages

The Essex Serpent: 110 pages
The Silent Companions: 100% (384 pages)
Miss Marjoribanks: 2%

Water Intake :  128 Fl Oz

Snacks Consumed: A few gluten free donut holes, 2 Justin’s mini chocolate peanut butter cup

Cups of Coffee: 4

Puppy Snuggles: Too many to count

Decades of Reading Mini Challenge:

 

 

1990’s: Time Enough For Drums by Ann Rinaldi

2000’s: Can You Keep a Secret? by Sophie Kinsella

2010’s: Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro

Update: Hours 13-16

I had another cup of coffee around hour 13. After reading The Silent Companions on my iPad for so long, my eyes really started to hurt. So around the halfway point of hour 14 I switched to one of my physical books The Essex Serpent. I also have needed to take more breaks during these hours to rest my tired eyes. I’m not quite ready to call it a night yet though, and am absolutely loving my latest read.

Overall Reading Progress:

 

Lady Audley’s Secret: 68 pages

The Essex Serpent: 58 pages
The Silent Companions: 70%
Miss Marjoribanks: 2%

 

Water Intake :  112 Fl Oz

Snacks Consumed: A few gluten free donut holes, 1 Justin’s mini chocolate peanut butter cup

Cups of Coffee: 3

Puppy Snuggles: Too many to count

 

Mid-Event Survey:

1. What are you reading right now?

The Silent Companions by Laura Purcell- so atmospheric and creepy, plus wonderfully written
2. How many books have you read so far?

Sadly I haven’t finished any books
3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon?

I’m hoping to start The Essex Serpent soon
4. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those?

I have had many interruptions from my reading buddy pup. I haven’t actually had an uninterrupted hour of reading yet, but she’s so adorable I can’t really be mad about it!
5. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far?

I’m loving all the mini-challenges and the sense of community online, but I think I’m a little surprised about how much those things cut into the actual reading time.

Update: Hours 10-12

Around 5:00 pm (hour 10) I had my much-anticipated pumpkin flavored coffee and a few gluten free donut holes. Then in the last half of hour 12 I made and ate dinner-Chicken with spinach, artichoke hearts, and capers in a lemon butter sauce (thanks Wegman’s!)

As for the reading, I’m absolutely loving The Silent Companions and made some major progress in it. I’m hoping to finish the book in the next few hours, but if it gets to be too creepy I may have to set it aside for a bit!

Overall Reading Progress:

  • Lady Audley’s Secret: 68 pages
  • The Silent Companions: 55%
  • Miss Marjoribanks: 2%

Water Intake : 96 Fl Oz

Snacks Consumed: A few gluten free donut holes, 1 Justin’s mini chocolate peanut butter cup

Cups of Coffee: 2

Puppy Snuggles: Too many to count

 

#ReadMoreWomen Mini Challenge

unnamed
Some of my favorite (living) women writers on my shelves #TheReadingWomen

Update: Hours 7-9

I spent hour 7 (from 2-3 pm) working out and then hour 8 was mostly used up in showering, and playing with and walking my fuzzy reading buddy. The rest of my time was spent on finishing another mini challenge and perusing #readathon social media posts. I spent most of hour nine reading The Silent Companions, and think I will continue with it in hour 10. I now have comfy yoga pants on and am about to make some pumpkin flavored coffee. Ready to kick this readathon up a notch…

Overall Reading Progress:

  • Lady Audley’s Secret: 68 pages
  • The Silent Companions: 25%
  • Miss Marjoribanks: 2%

Water Intake : 80 Fl Oz

Snacks Consumed: 1 Justin’s mini chocolate peanut butter cup

Puppy Snuggles: Too many to count

 

unnamed-1
My #readathon buddy is judging my physical TBR stack

Update: Hours 4-6 

I read Lady Audley’s Secret for about an hour before breaking for a delicious lunch of leftover spiralized veggie noodles with roasted brussels sprouts, a fried egg, and a dollop of hummus. I also worked on some of the readathon challenges before picking LAS back up. Then I started on The Silent Companions, and I can already tell this is going to be a favorite. Is is so very atmospheric with very vivid writing. I think I’m going to focus on it and other more recent fiction for a bit. As fun as my Victober reads are, they are much more slow going.

Overall Reading Progress:

  • Lady Audley’s Secret: 68 pages
  • The Silent Companions: 10%
  • Miss Marjoribanks: 2%

Water Intake : 48 Fl Oz

Snacks Consumed: 1 Justin’s mini chocolate peanut butter cup

Puppy Snuggles: Too many to count

Update: Hours 1-3

I read for about 15 minutes during the first hour, and made it through one chapter of Miss Marjoribanks by Margaret Oliphant. I also ate some oatmeal for breakfast. Then, I had to get ready and leave for puppy play group which lasted all of the second hour (9-10 am). By the time I returned home and settled down to read it was already 10:40, but I did manage to read two chapters of Lady Audley’s Secret. So not off to the best start, but I do have a very tired puppy now! Time to really get my readathon started…

My Readthon TBR:

https://dwellinpossibilityblog.wordpress.com/2017/10/19/deweys-24-hour-readathon-and-autumn-readathon-tbr-list/

Ten Years in Ten Books Challenge 

 

 

2007: A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini

2008:The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer , Annie Barrows

2009: The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters

2010: At Home: A Short History of Private Life by Bill Bryson

2011: The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

 

 

2012: Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

2013: Life After Life by Kate Atkinson

2014: Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel

2015: The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah

2016: Commonwealth by Ann Patchett

2017: Stay With Me by Ayobami Adebayo

Opening Survey:

1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today?

The east coast of the U.S.

2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to?

The Essex Serpent and The Silent Companions

3) Which snack are you most looking forward to? 

My potential snacks are: raw almonds, hummus with veggies or blue corn tortilla chips, and /or popcorn. For a sweet treat I may have a few Justin’s mini chocolate peanut butter cups, a gluten free donut, or I may decide to take a reading break and bake some gluten free pumpkin muffins. I’m pretty excited about drinking pumpkin flavored coffee, hot cider, and some red wine too.

4) Tell us a little something about yourself!

I’m an only child, an Intersectional Feminist, a bit of a clothes horse, an anglophile, a Janeite, and of course a bibliophile.

My reading buddy today is my adorable and silly Jack Russell Terrier puppy:

 

 


5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to?

This is my very first Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-thon! I’m looking forward to the sense of community and to making some major progress on my fall reading list.

 

4 thoughts on “Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon Master Post

Add yours

    1. Thanks so much! I’m having the best time being a part of the #readathon community today. Will definitely be participating in future events. Aren’t they delicious but addicting?! I hope you enjoy them both if you pick them up! The Winter Sea is very atmospheric and a great escapist read, and CNV will probably shatter your heart into a million pieces, but it is so worth reading. Have a great rest of the readathon!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

