Top Ten Tuesday: Books with ‘House’ in the Title

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme created by The Broke and the Bookish blog, and now hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl.

I’m doing a slight twist on this week’s topic (Frequently Used Words In [Insert Genre/Age Group] Titles), to talk about Books with ‘House’ in the Title.

 

14743257

The House of Mirth by Edith Wharton

This is one of my favorite novels, and one I’ve been longing to re-read lately. The title comes from a verse in the Old Testament: “The heart of the wise is in the house of mourning; but the heart of fools is in the house of mirth.” Lily Bart’s struggle to stay true to herself and gain freedom and happiness in the midst of the rigid and constricting society of Old New York, is just as infuriating and heartbreaking today, as it was when the novel was first published in 1905.

 

260439

The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson

This is my second favorite Shirley Jackson novel, following closely behind We Have Always Lived in the Castle. It’s also one of my favorite haunted house novels, and is a deliciously chilling read. The ending is perfect, and yet another reminder that Jackson was brilliant and unmatched when it comes to writing psychological horror.

 

3536445

The House at Riverton by Kate Morton

I can’t get enough of books set in English country estates, and Kate Morton certainly has a knack for writing them. I especially enjoyed the 1920’s setting of The House at Riverton, and the unfolding secrets, romance, and tragedy. It’s an escapist read that is perfect for fans of Downton Abbey.

 

25814507

The House Between Tides by Sarah Maine

Muirlan, the “House” in question, serves as a secondary character in this atmospheric, dual timeline novel. I loved the vivid Scottish Hebrides setting and the surrounding mystery, and sped through the book over a weekend. I’ll definitely be reading more of Sarah Maine’s work in the future.

 

11488123

The House at Tyneford by Natasha Solomons 

This is an engaging example of WWII era historical fiction, set at an English country estate. The protagonist Elise is a well-to-do young Jewish woman who flees Vienna for the safety of a maid position at the Tyneford estate. It’s a novel of love, loss, family, and fate; and one I think would make for an excellent period film.

 

139253

The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros 

The House on Mango Street is a powerful coming-of-age story about a young Latina woman growing up in Chicago. I need to revisit this classic, as I don’t remember many details from when I read it in Elementary/Middle School. I do remember adoring Esperanza and the vignette writing style however.

 

18907479

This House is Haunted by John Boyne

This is such a good example of a gothic ghost story set in the Victorian era. I went into This House is Haunted without any expectations, and I was pleasantly surprised by how gripping and well-written it was. I fully intend to re-read it in the future when I’m craving a spooky read with a feisty Victorian heroine.

 

And Three Books on my TBR:

 

176000

The Cider House Rules by John Irving

I look forward to reading this beloved and epic novel about an orphanage, an abortionist, rural society, love, and prejudice. It sounds almost Dickensian in scope and seems to feature vibrant characters and lyrical writing.

 

15994717

Bleak House by Charles Dickens

I love the BBC miniseries of Bleak House, and have been meaning to read the novel for ages. I don’t have any plans to pick up this doorstopper anytime soon, but hope it will live up to my expectations when I finally do.

 

30315614

The House on the Strand by Daphne du Maurier 

I adore Daphne du Maurier’s works, and The House on the Strand sounds like an unusual and unputdownable read. It features magic potions, time travel, a love story, and a house in Cornwall; yes please!

 

 

Do you have a favorite “House” book? 

SaveSaveSaveSaveSaveSave

28 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books with ‘House’ in the Title

Add yours

  1. Great list! I’ve enjoyed everything I’ve read by John Boyne, but I think This House is Haunted is one of his best. I’m glad to see The House on the Strand is on your TBR as it’s one of my favourite Daphne du Maurier novels. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Helen! It’s the only Boyne novel I’ve read so far, but I’m very excited to check out some of his other work soon. Glad to hear The House on the Strand is one of your favorite du Maurier novels; it sounds like a lot of fun.

      Like

  2. I’ve read all of the ones on your TBR and they’re all good. “Dickensian” is a good description of most of the John Irving novels that I’ve read. The House on the Strand isn’t my favorite DuMaurier but it’s still enjoyable, and I think that Bleak House is my favorite novel by Dickens (well, that or Great Expectations- I can’t choose!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s good to hear! I haven’t read anything by John Irving, but writing about The Cider House Rules has made me want to pick it up soon. It sounds like a book I’ll love. Based on the adaptations, I have a feeling Bleak House or Little Dorrit will end up being my favorite Dickens novel, although I did love Great Expectations too.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Jessie, I love your choice to do titles with ‘house’ in! I too love The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson, although in second place to We Have Always Lived in the Castle, and I would highly recommend Bleak House by Charles Dickens. Also I am looking forward to reading The House on the Strand by Daphne du Maurier.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s