Stacking the Shelves- 5/12/18

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews and Reading Reality all about sharing the books we are adding to our shelves, whether physical or virtual.

This week, I’m sharing two ebooks and two NetGalley ARCS that I’ve downloaded recently.

 

I’ve been wanting to read Out of Africa by Isak Dinesen for years, but still hadn’t picked up a copy. When I stumbled across a Kindle deal, I was quick to snap it up. I loved the Oscar winning adaptation and enjoyed a similar memoir, West with the Night by Beryl Markham, so I look forward to seeing how this book compares.

I’m a huge fan of Lucy Worsley, and couldn’t resist a great deal on her book The Art of the English Murder. I really enjoyed the accompanying BBC series, and am sure the book will be just as fascinating. This will be a perfect Halloween/R.I.P challenge read too.

 

I’m very happy my NetGalley request for The Vanishing by Sophia Tobin was approved. On Goodreads, this is described as being perfect for fans of Jane EyreFingersmith, and The Miniaturist (in other words, ME). It sounds like a wonderfully gothic, historical fiction thriller that I can’t wait to get lost in.

Last summer, I enjoyed an ARC of Fiona Davis‘ dual timeline historical novel, The Address. I’m hoping her latest novel, The Masterpiece, will be just as enjoyable of a summer read. This one is centered around the art of Grand Central Terminal (and the female artists who created it), which sounds right up my alley.

 

Have you read any of these? What book(s) have you been adding to your shelves lately?

SaveSaveSaveSave

11 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves- 5/12/18

Add yours

  1. I’ve been meaning to read Isak Denison forever. I’ve seen the film version of Out of Africa, and have every intention of reading the book when I get around to it.

    I read Fiona Davis’ The Dollhouse, which was entertaining historical fiction, but nothing remarkable. Was The Address similar? If so, I’ll probably check it out. Sometimes it’s just nice to be entertained.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jessie, I had to Google it but I have read and loved The Art of the English Murder only it was titled A Very British Murder when I read it. I too love Lucy Worsley and I am super excited that I got tickets to see her talk about Queen Victoria at my local theatre later this year 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s