Stacking the Shelves- 1/5/19

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews and Reading Reality all about sharing the books we are adding to our shelves, whether physical or virtual.

This week, I wanted to share two exciting ARCs I’ve recently been approved to read via Netgalley (Thanks Random House Publishing Group!!):

 

 

I Owe You One by Sophie Kinsella

Goodreads Synopsis:

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Sophie Kinsella, an irresistible story of love and empowerment about a young woman with a complicated family, a handsome man who might be “the one,” and an IOU that changes everything

Fixie Farr has always lived by her father’s motto: “Family first.” But since her dad passed away, leaving his charming housewares store in the hands of his wife and children, Fixie spends all her time picking up the slack from her siblings instead of striking out on her own. The way Fixie sees it, if she doesn’t take care of her father’s legacy, who will? It’s simply not in her nature to say no to people.

So when a handsome stranger in a coffee shop asks her to watch his laptop for a moment, Fixie not only agrees—she ends up saving it from certain disaster. Turns out the computer’s owner is an investment manager. To thank Fixie for her quick thinking, Sebastian scribbles an IOU on a coffee sleeve and attaches his business card. But Fixie laughs it off—she’d never actually claim an IOU from a stranger. Would she?

Then Fixie’s childhood crush, Ryan, comes back into her life and his lack of a profession pushes all of Fixie’s buttons. She wants nothing for herself—but she’d love Seb to give Ryan a job. And Seb agrees, until the tables are turned once more and a new series of IOUs between Seb and Fixie—from small favors to life-changing moments—ensues. Soon Fixie, Ms. Fixit for everyone else, is torn between her family and the life she really wants. Does she have the courage to take a stand? Will she finally grab the life, and love, she really wants?

Expected Publication: February 5th, 2019

I always look forward to a Sophie Kinsella fix every so often. While I admittedly enjoy some of her novels more than others, they’re all ideal when I’m in the mood for a fun, easy, and escapist reading experience. Fingers crossed I Owe You One will be one of her best!

 

The Dreamers by Karen Thompson Walker

Goodreads Synopsis:

A mesmerizing novel about a college town transformed by a strange illness that locks victims in a perpetual sleep and triggers life-altering dreams—by the bestselling author of The Age of Miracles, for fans of Emily St. John Mandel’s Station Eleven and Kazuo Ishiguro’s Never Let Me Go.

In an isolated college town in the hills of Southern California, a freshman girl stumbles into her dorm room, falls asleep—and doesn’t wake up. She sleeps through the morning, into the evening. Her roommate, Mei, cannot rouse her. Neither can the paramedics who carry her away, nor the perplexed doctors at the hospital. Then a second girl falls asleep, and then another, and panic takes hold of the college and spreads to the town. As the number of cases multiplies, classes are canceled, and stores begin to run out of supplies. A quarantine is established. The National Guard is summoned.

Mei, an outsider in the cliquish hierarchy of dorm life, finds herself thrust together with an eccentric, idealistic classmate. Two visiting professors try to protect their newborn baby as the once-quiet streets descend into chaos. A father succumbs to the illness, leaving his daughters to fend for themselves. And at the hospital, a new life grows within a college girl, unbeknownst to her—even as she sleeps. A psychiatrist, summoned from Los Angeles, attempts to make sense of the illness as it spreads through the town. Those infected are displaying unusual levels of brain activity, more than has ever been recorded. They are dreaming heightened dreams—but of what?

Written in gorgeous prose, The Dreamers is a breathtaking novel that startles and provokes, about the possibilities contained within a human life—in our waking days and, perhaps even more, in our dreams.

Expected Publication: January 15th, 2019

Since I’m a huge fan of both Station Eleven and Never Let Me Go, this seemed like one I couldn’t miss. Plus, I’ve only heard excellent things about Karen Thompson Walker’s debut The Age of Miracles. If The Dreamers is even half as good as this synopsis suggests, I think I’ll be in for a brilliant read.

 

Are you interested in reading either of these? What book(s) have you added to your shelf lately?

Advertisements

14 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves- 1/5/19

Add yours

    1. I hope you enjoy whichever of her books you pick up next! If I had to choose a favorite, I think it would be ‘Can You Keep a Secret?’ for what it’s worth…

      Like

  1. I’ve somehow completely missed that Sophie Kinsella has this new book coming out so I’m really glad that I saw your post! I definitely need to get a copy of it. I love the sound of The Dreamers too, I loved The Age of Miracles by this author so want to read this new one soon. Happy reading! 🙂
    Here’s my StS: https://rathertoofondofbooks.com/2019/01/05/stacking-the-shelves-with-my-new-bookhaul-5-jan-2019-have-you-added-any-new-books-to-your-tbr-this-week/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad too! I hadn’t heard about her new book until pretty recently either. Glad to hear you enjoyed Age of Miracles; I’d like to pick it up soon too. Hopefully we’ll both love The Dreamers. Happy reading, Hayley!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s