Stacking the Shelves- 2/2/19

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews and Reading Reality all about sharing the books we are adding to our shelves, whether physical or virtual.

This week, I’ve added a Kindle book I’ve been wanting to read and a paperback ARC I won in a Goodreads giveaway.

 

 

Tangerine by Christine Mangan

This has been on my TBR list for a while now, so I couldn’t resist buying the eBook when it was on sale for $1.99. I’m currently reading this mystery/thriller set in Morocco in the 1950’s, and am really enjoying it so far. I can’t wait to see how the tension builds and whether or not the comparisons to The Talented Mr. Ripley are justified.

 

The Last Romantics by Tara Conklin (Expected Publication: February 5th)

Goodreads Synopsis:

The New York Times bestselling author of The House Girl explores the lives of four siblings in this ambitious and absorbing novel in the vein of Commonwealth and The Interestings.

“The greatest works of poetry, what makes each of us a poet, are the stories we tell about ourselves. We create them out of family and blood and friends and love and hate and what we’ve read and watched and witnessed. Longing and regret, illness, broken bones, broken hearts, achievements, money won and lost, palm readings and visions. We tell these stories until we believe them.”

When the renowned poet Fiona Skinner is asked about the inspiration behind her iconic work, The Love Poem, she tells her audience a story about her family and a betrayal that reverberates through time.

It begins in a big yellow house with a funeral, an iron poker, and a brief variation forever known as the Pause: a free and feral summer in a middle-class Connecticut town. Caught between the predictable life they once led and an uncertain future that stretches before them, the Skinner siblings—fierce Renee, sensitive Caroline, golden boy Joe and watchful Fiona—emerge from the Pause staunchly loyal and deeply connected. Two decades later, the siblings find themselves once again confronted with a family crisis that tests the strength of these bonds and forces them to question the life choices they’ve made and ask what, exactly, they will do for love.

A sweeping yet intimate epic about one American family, The Last Romantics is an unforgettable exploration of the ties that bind us together, the responsibilities we embrace and the duties we resent, and how we can lose—and sometimes rescue—the ones we love. A novel that pierces the heart and lingers in the mind, it is also a beautiful meditation on the power of stories—how they navigate us through difficult times, help us understand the past, and point the way toward our future.

Yay for Goodreads giveaways! I’m hoping The Last Romantics really will remind me of Commonwealth by Ann Patchett. If it’s half as good as the latter, then I’m definitely in for a treat. I haven’t read anything by Tara Conklin, but I look forward to diving into this family saga soon.

 

What book(s) have you added to your shelf lately?

Advertisements

6 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves- 2/2/19

Add yours

  1. I’m curious to know what you think of Tangerine. I really liked it but I know it got a lot of poor reviews on amazon/goodreads. I think that’s because there aren’t really any “likable” characters? I don’t know, I’m just guessing. I really liked the atmospheric tension.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s