Friday Reads: The Night Watch and Idaho

Thinking of everyone who is in Florence's path. Please stay safe!! It's most likely going to be a very rainy weekend here, so I'm hoping to catch up on some reading and blogging. I'm currently enjoying The Night Watch by Sarah Waters and Idaho by Emily Ruskovich. Keep scrolling for this week’s Book Beginnings and The Friday 56…     Book... Continue Reading →

Book Review: Dear Mrs. Bird by AJ Pearce

Dear Mrs. Bird, A.J. Pearce Expected publication: July 3rd, 2018   Goodreads synopsis: A charming, irresistible debut novel set in London during World War II about an adventurous young woman who becomes a secret advice columnist—a warm, funny, and enormously moving story for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Societyand Lilac Girls.... Continue Reading →

AbeBooks Haul

Here are six used books I purchased from AbeBooks this spring:   Dusty Answer by Rosamond Lehmann I adore Rosamond Lehmann's writing and was very happy to get this lovely Virago edition of her first novel. Madame, Will You Talk? by Mary Stewart This may not be the most attractive book, but I can't wait to lose... Continue Reading →