The Netflix Book Tag

I recently saw this fun tag on Kristin Kraves Books*, and had to join in.

After all, I love a good Netflix session almost as much as a good book.

 

*From what I can tell, the original was created by A Darker Shade of Whitney over on Booktube.

 

RECENTLY WATCHED: The last book you finished reading.

37459366

Bellewether by Susanna Kearsley

I was so excited to receive an ARC of Bellewether, and I was not disappointed in the least. It was another well-written, romantic, richly detailed novel from one of my favorite contemporary authors.

TOP PICKS: A book that has been recommended to you based on books you have previously read.

27003

The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde

I’ve been recommended The Eyre Affair a few times based on my love for Jane Eyre and To Say Nothing of the Dog. It sounds like such a fun, quirky read and I can’t wait to pick it up.

RECENTLY ADDED: The last book you bought.

33876596

 Things a Bright Girl Can Do by Sally Nicholls 

I’m looking forward to reading this YA historical novel all about the suffragettes. Right now, I’m planning on including it as part of my Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon TBR.

POPULAR ON NETFLIX: Books that everyone knows about. (2 you’ve read and 2 you haven’t read or have no interest in reading.)

Read:

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas, The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah

In January, I finally read THUG and found it to be just as amazing, powerful, and moving as all the hype suggested it would be. I also really enjoyed The Nightingale, but wasn’t as enamored with it as many people seem to be.

Unread:

The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt, Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

I’ve been saving The Goldfinch since its release, but am determined to make this the year I finally read it. On the other hand, I have no desire to read Ready Player One, despite all of the buzz surrounding it.

COMEDIES: A funny book.

8367225

The Grand Sophy by Georgette Heyer

Heyer’s novels always make me laugh out loud, and The Grand Sophy was my first introduction to her work. Her witty dialogue, larger than life characters, and their hilarious hijinks combine to create a very funny read.

DRAMAS: A character who is a drama queen/king.

29283884

Monty from The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee

This was a tricky one, but I think Monty can be considered a bit of a drama king. He’s a lovable, high maintenance rogue, who can be overdramatic at times. Even so, I love him to pieces!

ANIMATED: A book with cartoons on the cover.

28815371

The Mothers by Brit Bennett

This gorgeous and vivid cover was the most cartoon-esque I could spy on my shelves.

WATCH IT AGAIN: A book or series that you want to re-read.

 

31122

I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith

To be honest, there’s never really a time I DON”T feel like re-reading I Capture the Castle, but it always sounds extra appealing in the spring.

DOCUMENTARIES: A non-fiction book you’d recommend to everyone.

7507825

At Home: A Short History of Private Life by Bill Bryson

I think there’s something to interest everyone in Bryson’s At Home. He covers a wide range of history and a plethora of subjects in his witty and engaging prose.

ACTION AND ADVENTURE: An action packed book.

10964

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

If you were to think up any action/adventure related plot point, chances are very high that said event occurs in Outlander.

NEW RELEASES: A book that just came out or will be coming out soon that you can’t wait to read.

36337550

The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton

This sounds like such a clever and fun take on the classic country house mystery. I’ve only heard good things, and I can’t wait to experience it for myself.

 

If you’d like to participate, please consider yourself tagged!!

9 thoughts on “The Netflix Book Tag

Add yours

  1. I was actually rather disappointed in The Eyre Affair. I should have loved it, something felt like it was missing. I read the next one in the series to see if it improved, but something about it just felt “off” to me.
    My reaction to The Nightengale was similar to yours. It was alright, but not remarkable. Maybe my expectations were just too high.
    I had a similar response to The Goldfinch actually. By the time I read it, it had gotten all kinds of acclaim and awards, and I love Donna Tartt so maybe my expectations were rather unrealistic. I liked the beginning and the end, but the middle felt very weak, leaving everything with an overall uneven feeling (IMO, of course)
    I love I Capture the Castle and Outlander, and of course The Seven and a Half Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is on my TBR.
    I might try to do this tag later!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s too bad about The Eyre Affair; it sounds like such a fun premise. I’m glad I’m not the only one who wasn’t blown away by The Nightingale, and I am a bit worried my expectations for The Goldfinch are too high. Hopefully we’ll both enjoy Evelyn Hardcastle. I look forward to seeing your responses if you decide to participate!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment