Bookish Buzz: Bicentennial of Jane Austen’s Death

Today marks the 200th anniversary of Jane Austen’s death. While that event itself is not a happy occasion, her life and her works are certainly worth celebrating. Two centuries later, her fame and influence is stronger than ever.

There are lots of unveilings and events taking place today-  make sure to check out http://janeausten200.co.uk and #Austen200 on Twitter.

 

Screen Shot 2017-07-18 at 9.44.29 AM.png

 

Screen Shot 2017-07-18 at 10.27.52 AM

 

Screen Shot 2017-07-18 at 9.47.51 AM

 

Screen Shot 2017-07-18 at 9.49.17 AM.png

 

Screen Shot 2017-07-18 at 9.49.02 AM.png

 

Jane Austen is my favorite author, and I can’t put into words what she has meant to me. I first read Pride and Prejudice at the age of eleven, and quickly sought out her other five novels. It’s not an exaggeration to say her books have changed my life. I will always be sad she didn’t live long enough to write even more, but I am so grateful for the works she left behind. Thank you for everything Jane! Here’s to another 200 years of your influence.

How do you plan on marking today’s anniversary? I plan on listening to this Austentacious improv, reading more of the enjoyable The Jane Austen Project, and maybe re-watching an Austen adaptation.

 

4 thoughts on “Bookish Buzz: Bicentennial of Jane Austen’s Death

Add yours

    1. Yay for being birthday twins with Jane Austen! I would recommend Sense and Sensibility as a good second Austen. I’m a little jealous of anyone who gets to read her books for the first time. I hope you love her other works as much as you did P&P!

      Like

Leave a comment